Viewpoint: Pray for All of our Leaders, both National and Locally

by Mike Sparks

It was only a few weeks ago that America had a record low unemployment which was at a nearly 50-year low of 3.5%. A record 6.6 million Americans applied for unemployment benefits last week as the coronavirus struck the U.S. economy and sent a recently booming job market into a tail spin. Needless to say, the coronavirus pandemic could change American life as we know it.

When I awoke I was thinking of all that’s going on in this world from the coronavirus, to job losses, companies closing and more.


I pondered on what our community, state and country’s future holds.

U.S. President Trump, center, bows his head during a prayer while surrounded by U.S. Vice President Mike Pence, right, faith leaders and evangelical ministers Photographer: Andrew Harrer/Bloomberg

As I prayed for President Trump, Vice President Mike Pence, Governor Bill Lee, Lt. Gov. Randy McNally, House Speaker Cameron Sexton, Leader William Lamberth, Chairman Jeremy Faison and I thought, “who do I not pray for?”


Sen. Lamar Alexander


Everyone is “essential” from elected officials to nurses, custodians, nursing home staff, police officers, firefighters, Kroger, Food Lion and Walmart employees and more.

Rutherford County Commissioner Steve Ervin who passed away last night,April 9th 2020

As I got up and walked into our living room with my cup of coffee my wife Felicia said to me,

“did you see where Commissioner Steve Ervin passed away?”

Although Steve and  I haven’t known each other, but a few years we found a connection in wanting help people in our community. Steve was the second friend of mine this week who has passed away.

I thought, “did Landon Lee and Steve possibly both die from coronavirus and could they both have had some underlying medical conditions?”

Commissioner Ervin and I had been meeting together the past few months with Tennessee Department of Corrections (TDOC) Richard Boyd, Sandra Plumb, Stephanie Hale with Tennessee Mental Health Cooperative and others planning a conference about mental health, opioid crisis and criminal justice reform. Our hope was to have Governor Bill Lee and Tennessee Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services (TDMHSAS) Commissioner Marie Williams attend the conference.

Many thanks to Pastor Brady Cooper and Steve Austin of New Vision Baptist Church for be willing to host the conference, hopefully this June 6, Saturday from 9 a.m. until noon.

If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.”

2 Chronicles 7:14 

It was George Washington, one of our country’s most revered founding fathers who once said, “It is impossible to rightly govern a nation without God and the Bible.”


Please continue to pray for this nation.

It is possible our leaders don’t have the answers? If there is ever a time to ask God to intervene and bless and heal this nation — Now is that time.

The grand opening of Steak ‘n Shake in Smyrna November 5, 2018, Rep.MIke Sparks hosted Senator Marsha Blackburn who paid tribute to the family of the late Sgt.Asbury “Freddie” Hawn,a Smyrna resident and empllyee of Nissan who was killed in Iraq. Freddie was a graduate of La Vergne High School in 1988,  Pictured are Stewarts Creek High School student Spencer Hawn, Sen. Marsha Blackburn, Sgt. Hawn’s widow Angie Hawn and son John Hawn. Picture courtesy of Frank Caperton of Frankworks.

Below is a list of every elected official in Rutherford County (Let me know if I missed anyone).

Please keep all of them, our healthcare workers and others in your prayers.

President Donald Trump

Vice President Mike Pence

Governor Bill Lee

Senators Marsha Blackburn, Lamar Alexander.

Congressmen Scott DesJarlais, Phil Roe,Tim Burchett, Chuck Fleischmann, Jim Cooper, John Rose, Mark Green, David Kustoff and Steve Cohen.

Tennessee Senators: Dawn Throneberry White, Shane Reeves

Tennessee House Members: Bryan Terry, Charlie Baum, Tim Rudd, Mike Sparks

Rutherford County District Attorney Jennings Jones

Rutherford County Public Defender Attorney Gerald Melton

Constitutional Office Holders: Rutherford County Property Assessor Rob Mitchell, County Clerk Court Lisa Duke Crowell, Register of Deeds Heather Dawbarn, Circuit Court Clerk Melissa Harrell, Sheriff, Mike Fitzhugh, Trustee Teb Batey and County Mayor Bill Ketron. 

Rutherford County Highway Superintendent Greg Brooks

Rutherford County Commissioners: David Gammon, Steve Pearcy, Michael Wrather, Robert Peay, Carol Cook,Joe Frank Jernigan, Mike Kusch, Pettus Read Reed, Joe Gourley, Wayne Blair, Rhonda Rhonda Petty Allen,Robert Stevens, Paul Johnson, Virgil Gammon, Craig Harris, Phil Dodd, Jeff Phillips, Allen McAdoo and Chanto Sourinho.

Murfreesboro City Council: Eddie Smotherman Bill Shacklett, Kirt Wade, Maddelyn Harris, Rick LaLance, Ronnie Martin Mayor Shane McFarland.

MURFREESBORO, Tenn. — The Murfreesboro City Council will meet in a regular workshop, Wednesday, March 11, 2020, at Murfreesboro Police Headquarters, Community Room, 1004 N. Highland Ave., to discuss issues with staff. (Photo courtesy

Smyrna Town Council: Marc Adkins, H.G. Henry Cole, Steve Sullivan, Tim Morrell, Racquel Peebles, Gerry Short, Mayor Mayor Esther Reed.

Pictured are: Smyrna Town Attorney Jeff Peach, Councilman Tim Morrell, H.G. Cole, Gerry Short, Racquel Peebles, Steve Sullivan, Mayor Mary Esther Reed, and Vice Mayor Marc Adkins and Town Manager Brian Hercules.


La Vergne City Board of Alderman: Vice- Mayor Melisa Vice Mayor Melisa Brown, Matt Church Calvin Jones Steve Noe and Mayor Jason Cole.

Pictured: La Vergne Alderman Matt Church, Mayor Cole, Alderman Calvin Jones, Alderman Melisa Brown and Alderman Steve Noe.


Eagleville City Council: Alan Ball Jason Blair Chris Hendrix Richard Inglis Brandon Emamalie,Vice-Mayor William Tollett and Mayor Chad Leeman.

Rutherford County School Board members: Tammy Lynn Tiffany Johnson Lisa Walter Moore Coy Young, Jeff Jordan, Terry Hodge and Chairman Jim Estes.


Murfreesboro City School Board members: David Settles, Wesley Ballard, Roseann Barton, Becky Goff, David LaRoche and Chairman Butch Campbell.

Rutherford County Highway Commissioners Keith Bratcher, David “Rabbit“ Victory, Richard Steagall, Paul Johnson and Mark Lee.

If my office can be of service please call 615-741-6829 or email my assistant Marvin Williamson at