Gov. Lee Announces Murfreesboro’s Larry Sims and others to Key Boards & Commissions



Friday, January 12, 2024 | 11:28am

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Today, Tennessee Governor Bill Lee announced appointees to a series of key state boards and commissions.Larry Sims Murfreesboro real estate One such notable appointment i longtime Murfreesboro real estate and auction professional Larry Sims. Sims has over 30 years experience and owns one of the leading real estate companies in Middle Tennessee specializing in commercial, residential and auctions. Sims is a graduate of Middle Tennessee State university majoring in business in 1972 and has earned the prestigious CCIM designation.CCIM Designees are proven leaders in commercial real estate who care as much about the expertise, ethical responsibility, and quality of their service, as they do about the result.

RELATED: Sims Family Brings History Life by Jonathon Fagan 

    • “I’m pleased to appoint these highly-qualified individuals who will ensure that Tennessee continues to lead the nation,”
      said Gov. Lee.

“The success of our state depends on the engagement of Tennesseans, and I look forward to their service.”

Appointees will fill a variety of roles to ensure that Tennessee’s boards and commissions continue conducting the state’s business at the highest level. The following Tennesseans have been appointed:

Tennessee Board of Parole

  • Robert L. Waggoner, Member

Heritage Conservation Trust Fund Board – subject to legislative confirmation

  • Madge Cleveland, East TN Member
  • Charles Hankla, Middle TN Member
  • Jeremy Nagoshiner, Middle TN Member
  • Angie Box, West TN Member
  • Mike Frick, West TN Member
  • Phil Poux, West TN Member

Textbook and Instructional Materials Quality Commission – subject to legislative confirmation

  • Dr. Cherrye Robertson, Principal

University of Tennessee at Chattanooga Advisory Board – subject to legislative confirmation

  • Garnett Decosimo, Member
  • Mario Duarte, Member

University of Tennessee at Martin Advisory Board – subject to legislative confirmation

  • Dan Strasser, Member

State Board of Accountancy

  • Sam Bennett, Middle TN Member

Real Estate Commission

  • Geoffrey Diaz, West TN Member

Tennessee Motor Vehicle Commission

  • Ian Leavy, Representative of Manufacturing
  • Victor J. Evans, Representative of Consumers

Tennessee Auctioneer Commission

  • Larry Sims, Middle TN Auctioneer


Air Pollution Control Board

  • Kyle Etheridge, Representative of Tennessee Industry