Cameron Sexton Elected new Speaker of the House

by Tennessee Municipal League

It’s official. Cameron Sexton was elected by the members of the Tennessee House of Representatives to be the Speaker of the House, during a special called legislative session in August. Sexton was elected 94-0, with two democrats abstaining.
Sexton, 48, is currently serving his fifth term in the state House.

Lacey McRae and Cameron Sexton

Last year, he was elected to the position of GOP Caucus Chair for the House Republicans. Rep. Jeremy Faison was elected by the GOP Caucus to fill that leadership position.
Other changes in leadership include Rep. Curtis Johnson

who was appointed by Speaker Sexton to deputy speaker, replacing Rep. Matthew Hill.
Other members of the GOP leadership team remained as appointed by former Speaker Casada.

They are Bill Dunn, Speaker Pro Tempore; and William Lamberth, Republican Leader.

Pictured; Rep. Jay Reedy, Gov. Bill Lee, deputy speaker Pro tem Curtis Johnson and Tommy Vallejos

However, there were some notable changes including naming Rep. Gary Hicks as the chairman of the Finance subcommittee, replacing Rep. Andy Holt, who moved to chairman of the Agriculture subcommittee. The speaker also created a new Appropriations subcommittee to be chaired by Rep. Matthew Hill.
Other changes include:
Rep. Robin Smith, chair, Insurance committee;
Rep. Ron Travis, chair, Businesses subcommittee;
Rep. Ryan Williams, chair, Life and Health subcommittee;
Rep. David Hawk, chair,
TennCare subcommittee;
Rep. Bob Ramsey, chair, Departments and Agencies subcommittee; and
Rep. Jay Reedy, chair, Public Service, and Employees subcommittee.